Reserved Product Inventory Groups
If you wish to have inventory management on Reserved Products, you will need to take advantage of the Inventory Grouping feature. When Reserved Products are put into Inventory Groups, users that don’t have overbooking permissions will only be able to schedule one product from the group each day om each publication on the Reserved Product Scheduler.
Inventory Group Setup Page
To set up these inventory groups, go to Settings > Products > Reserved Product Inventory Groups.
To access this page, you need the user permission Digital Media Inventory Groups.
On the Reserved Product Inventory Groups page, you will be able to add and edit inventory groups and choose which products to include in those groups.
Click the + icon in the upper right corner to add a new inventory group. In the popup, enter a name for your group and choose the products you wish to include. All active reserved products will show up as an option,
The products that show up in the dropdown are all active Reserved products that are not scheduled in the future on the Reserved Product Scheduler. If a product has never been scheduled, or is only scheduled in the past, you will see the product as an option. However, if a product has been placed into the Scheduler for a future date, you will not be able to add that item to an inventory group.
Note
A reserved product can only be in one inventory group at a time.
Once you have chosen your inventory group name and products, click Save to create the group.
On the table, there are various actions you can perform.
Use the ellipsis icon to edit existing groups (change the name or products included), disable or delete a group.
You can view disabled groups by clicking the Show Disabled box, and once again use the ellipsis to re-enable the group.
Click on the Name column to sort your inventory groups alphabetically by name.
The search bar above the table can be used to find particular groups.
If you have a large amount of inventory groups, you can change how many results are displayed and scroll through the pages to view more results.
Adding Inventory Groups Directly to Reserved Products
The Reserved Product Inventory Groups page is the only place on the site to create new inventory groups. However, when adding or editing a Reserved Product, you do have the ability to set an existing inventory group onto the product, if certain conditions are met.
To do this, go to Settings > Products > Reserved Products.
You must have the user permission Slot, Impression, Reserved & Targeted Display Products to access this page.
On the Reserved Products page, you can edit existing Reserved Products and create new ones. When adding or editing a Reserved Product, you will see an Inventory Group field.
If the product is included in an inventory group, its name will show up in the field. If not, the field will be blank.
You can change the group by opening the dropdown and selecting from your existing Inventory Groups. Make sure to save your changes.
How Inventory Groups Affect Scheduling
On the Reserved Product Scheduler, you can filter the Scheduler by specific inventory groups. Inventory grouping also restricts where items can be placed, depending on where other items in the group have been placed.
Begin by going to Production > Reserved Product Scheduler.
To access this page, you need the user permission Reserved Product Scheduler. To make any changes on this page, and see the unscheduled products runsheet, you need the sub-permission to Edit Details.
Once you are on the Scheduler page, you can choose to filter the calendar view by inventory group. Click on the filter icon in the upper right corner of the calendar and choose which inventory groups you wish to see. Both the calendar and the runsheet will be updated to only include products that are a part of the chosen inventory groups.
The ability to schedule products within inventory groups is dependent on whether you have the user permission Allow System Inventory Overbooking or not.
With the permission:
Any product can be scheduled like normal. There are no inventory restrictions to placing items from the runsheet, or moving items within the runsheet. If you place an item on the same day as another item from the same inventory group and publication, you will see a confirmation popup, which lets you know you will be overbooking the inventory if placed.
Without the permission:
You will be unable to place an item onto the same day as another item from the same inventory group if it is from the same publication. This applies to placing items from the runsheet into the calendar and moving scheduled items within the calendar. You will be able to place items from the same inventory group onto the same day as long as they belong to different publications.
Tip
You have Reserved Products A, B, C, and D, all of which are from the same publication. Products A and B are in the same inventory group. Product C is in a different inventory group, and product D is not in an inventory group. You have placed product A in the scheduler, with a scheduled date of 3/20. You will not be able to place product B on 3/20, even if its run dates would otherwise let it be placed. Products C and D can both be placed on 3/20, since they are not part of the same inventory group as product A.
Updated 2/9/2023